Carb Cycling – Day 1

So after yesterday’s shocker on the scale, I decided to try carb cycling to hopefully kickstart my sluggish metabolism.  My plan is loosely based on Chris Powell’s  book Choose to Lose.   I’ve decided to go low-carb Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday and then have healthy carb days on Wednesday & Saturday.  Sunday will be a “free” day where I’ll still try to eat as clean as possible, but not worry as much about having fats and carbs in the same meal.

Today’s meals were as follows:

  • Refrigerator Oatmeal
  • Chocolate Whey Protein Shake with added Cinnamon
  • Quest Nutrition Bar
  • Salad with turkey bacon, egg, sunflower seeds, mushrooms & veggies & low-fat blue cheese dressing

Sometime before 8, I’ll have another protein shake with a small amount of coconut oil to hopefully keep me from waking up at 2 am hungry!

Overall, I feel pretty good about today.  I’m a little sluggish, but I think that will improve in the next week or so.  I also drank 10-12 big glasses of water and decaf green tea.

In the next few days, I’ll make a list of the various supplements I’m also taking.  My endocrinologist said my metabolism is basically dead right now….but my thyroid is technically ok, so I’m going to do what I can to get it revved up.  Exercise will also be a part of this plan….but that’s another story for another day.

I definitely feel more hopeful than I did yesterday….which is fascinating because I still have the same 230+ pounds to lose.   Maybe making good food choices is empowering?  hmmm…

7 responses to “Carb Cycling – Day 1

    • Thanks Catherine…I would love your company! So far day 2 is also going well…knowing that my next ‘meal’ is only 3 hours away seems to help.

      • That’s a good way of looking at it! I had a couple of beers tonight but didn’t overdo it and I don’t want to get into a situation where I deny myself until I can’t hold out anymore and binge. I think it’s all about moderation and common sense. Hopefully the scales will agree on Monday.

        Looking forward to following you.
        Catherine :-)

  1. Hi, I’m Margot, I created my blog a few months ago in the hope of helping people find a healthier way of living. I’ve just read a number of your posts and feel really emotional about all that you’re going through – it sounds incredibly tough for you. I think it’s fantastic that you’re writing about your experiences/thoughts and also that you’re trying to do something to turn it all around. Can I just say though, that after reading your list of today’s meals, I can’t help but notice how much processed food is on there – the egg, sunflower seeds, mushrooms and veggies (plus the greek yoghurt from the oatmeal recipe) are all great, but I can’t possibly agree that any of the other items could be beneficial to losing weight.
    There are so many conflicting ideas on what’s best to put into our bodies these days – it makes people so incredibly confused. Especially when what’s recommended today, is then frowned upon tomorrow…
    I’d be happy to chat more with you, if you’re keen. Though I realise I’m just one more person with their own opinions on this matter. If nothing else, please check out my post ‘World Gone Pear-Shaped’, to get an idea of what I believe in. I’ve never bought in to fast-food, diet/low-fat drinks/products and feel that anything that has been modified and highly-processed should be steered clear of.
    Cheers, Margot

    • Margot, Thanks so much for taking time to read my ramblings and to comment so thoughtfully. I’m definitely learning a lot these days! One of the things that I’ve learned for myself is to aim for progress over perfection. This is a tough one for me because I’m usually a right/wrong, good/evil type of thinker. Some of the “little changes” I’ve made over the past 6 months have been to completely eliminate any fast-food and diet sodas and stay away from as much processed crap as possible. The Quest nutrition bars and the whey protein powder I do use on occasion came recommended from several “clean eating” websites….but like you said, re there are many conflicting ideas about nutrition these days!

      I did read your post and will continue to check in with your blog! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Desperately seeking…ENERGY! | Each Bite Matters

Leave a Reply

